Saint Andrew’s Episcopal Church of La Mesa began as a small congregation of 16 people on November 13, 1921, meeting in the home of Mrs. Hutchison to celebrate their first communion with the Rev. A.F.Taylor. Four days later the women organized themselves into a Church Guild. The second service was led by the Rev. W.D. Parker at the La Mesa Women’s Club House on Sunday, November 27th. They chose the name Saint Andrew because these services occurred closest to his Feast Day. On May 18, 1924 Saint Andrew’s Chapel at the corner of Lemon Avenue and Spring Street was dedicated by the Rt. Rev. Joseph Johnson, Bishop of Los Angeles.
At the Annual Meeting on December 9, 1925 the congregation voted unanimously to apply to the Diocese of Los Angeles for admission as an authorized Mission, which was granted by Bishop Johnson. In 1946 Saint Andrew’s became a self-supporting Parish and in 1947, under the leadership of the Rev. C. Boone Sadler, Jr., the Day School was opened with approximately 22 children enrolled and Mrs. Bruce as its first Head Mistress. By 1948, in need of enlarging the Church and the Parish Hall, land was purchased and the congregation moved to a large lot at Lemon and Glen Streets.
Today St. Andrews is a loving, caring Christ centered and Spirit-filled church. We reach out to others in Christ’s love and are very welcoming to newcomers. We are truly a church family, sharing our lives, supporting one another, and we love to fellowship – monthly breakfasts between services for both congregations, refreshments after each service, monthly senior luncheons, many annual events, and we go all out for potlucks throughout the year! Please explore our website to learn more about us, our services, and our ministries.
St. Andrew’s Episcopal Church is located at 4816 Glen Street in La Mesa, California. Our office number is (619) 460 – 7272.